v3 Color (Studio & Studio Max)

Color management helps to ensure that the colors you see on your monitor are as close to how they should appear as possible.

In addition, you can configure what working color profile LandscapePro Studio uses internally. This affects the color gamut, which is the range of colors that can be represented.

For maximum speed, select the High Performance Display option. This allows LandscapePro Studio to optimize the use of color profiles for the screen when being used interactively. Regardless of this setting, your chosen working profile will be used when saving files.

Note: this dialog is only available in the Studio and Studio Max editions of LandscapePro. The Standard edition of LandscapePro works with Color Management turned off and 8 bits per color sample. This means that colors displayed on the screen may not be accurate, however color profiles are preserved which means that the images saved from LandscapePro will have the same color profiles as the images that were originally loaded. If using these images in other color managed programs the colors will look correct.

An explanation of color management

When color management is turned on, LandscapePro will ensure that the colors on the screen are correctly displayed according to the color profile specified in the image and your monitor profile. For the very best results, calibrate your monitor rather than using the profile that is provided by the manufacturer of the monitor.

For example, if you have a picture on your disk that you have saved with an sRGB profile and you also have the same picture saved with an Adobe (1998) profile, then theywill be displayed with slightly different colors with color management turned off, but when color management is on theywill look the same. In fact with color management on the two pictures could still look slightly different due to out of gamut colors being lost when the images were created, or rounding errors caused by the different color profile conversions in the process of displaying the images. However any changes would be very slight and normally not noticeable.

If you print a lot then a good rule of thumb is to use Adobe (1998) as your working profile, or if you mainly view images on your monitor then sRGB is more suitable. In either case it is best not to convert from one color profile to another without a reason, because during the conversion there may be colors that become out of gamut (i.e. they cannot be represented in the new color space) and so they will be lost, and also rounding errors could be introduced which would appear as color banding over smooth gradients in the image.

Color ( Studio only )

Color management helps to ensure that the colors you see on your monitor are as close to how they should appear as possible.

In addition, you can configure what working color profile LandscapePro Studio uses internally. This affects the color gamut, which is the range of colors that can be represented.

For maximum speed, select the “High Performance Display” option. This allows LandscapePro Studio to optimize the use of color profiles for the screen when being used interactively. Regardless of this setting, your chosen working profile will be used when saving files.

Note: this dialog is only available in the Studio editions of LandscapePro. The standard edition of LandscapePro works with Color Management turned off and 8 bits per color sample.What this means is that colors displayed on the screen may not be accurate, however color profiles are preserved which means that the images saved from LandscapePro will have the same color profiles as the images that were originally loaded. If using these images in other color managed programs the colors will look correct.

An explanation of color management

When color management is turned on, LandscapePro will ensure that the colors on the screen are correctly displayed according to the color profile specified in the image and your monitor profile. For the very best results, calibrate your monitor rather than using the profile that is provided by the manufacturer of the monitor.

For example, if you have a picture on your disk that you have saved with an sRGB profile and you also have the same picture saved with an Adobe (1998) profile, then theywill be displayed with slightly different colors with color management turned off, but when color management is on theywill look the same. In fact with color management on the two pictures could still look slightly different due to out of gamut colors being lost when the images were created, or rounding errors caused by the different color profile conversions in the process of displaying the images. However any changes would be very slight and normally not noticeable.

If you print a lot then a good rule of thumb is to use Adobe (1998) as your working profile, or if you mainly view images on your monitor then sRGB is more suitable. In either case it is best not to convert from one color profile to another without a reason, because during the conversion there may be colors that become out of gamut (i.e. they cannot be represented in the new color space) and so they will be lost, and also rounding errors could be introduced which would appear as color banding over smooth gradients in the image.

General Settings

To bring up this dialog, return to the Home screen and click the Settings button in the top left hand corner.

The settings available under the General tab are:

Show tips as you use LandscapePro

Un-checking the box turns off the tips, so you will no longer be prompted with tips on how to use LandscapePro.

Load 16 bit images as 8 bit then reprocess as 16 bit on Save ( Off: Slow)

Checking the box will save you some time on loading images if you only have small adjustments to make to your images.

Auto Plugin Mode

If this is checked, LandscapePro will enter plug-in mode if a path is specified on the command line when launching the application.

Check the box to use the Studio version as a Plugin. Un-check the box if you regularly open images directly in LandscapePro.

Send anonymous usage data to improve LandscapePro

Allow your software to collect data anonymously and send it to Anthropics to help improve the software.

Jpeg Compression Setting. 

Adjust the amount of compression when saving a jpg file. Higher is better. Smaller values produce smaller files, higher values produce larger, but better looking files.

Maximum image display size

If you have problems loading very large images into the software, they might be too large for your graphics card to display. If that’s the case you can lower this value. It will only affect what you see in the software, images will still be saved at the original size.

General Settings

To bring up this dialog, return to the Home screen and click the Settings button in the top left hand corner.

The settings available under the General tab are:

Show tips as you use LandscapePro

Unchecking the box turns off the tips, so you will no longer be prompted with tips on how to use LandscapePro.

Load 16 bit images as 8 bit then reprocess as 16 bit on Save ( Off: Slow)

Checking the box will save you some time on loading images if you only have small adjustments to make to your images.

Auto Plugin Mode

If this is checked, LandscapePro will enter plug-in mode if a path is specified on the command line when launching the application.

Check the box to use the Studio version as a Plugin. Uncheck the box if you regularly open images directly in LandscapePro.

Send anonymous usage data to improve LandscapePro

Allow your software to collect data anonymously and send it to Anthropics to help improve the software.

Jpeg Compression Setting. Higher is better quality.

Adjust the amount of compression when saving a jpg image. Smaller values produce smaller files, higher values produce larger, but better looking files.

Maximum image display size

If you have problems loading very large images into the software, they might be too large for your graphics card to display. If that’s the case you can lower this value. It will only affect what you see in the software, images will still be saved at the original size.